Table 1 - State Laws on the Use of Cellular Telephones: As of November 2001

Table 1 - State Laws on the Use of Cellular Telephones: As of November 2001

Excel | CSV

State Description Penalties
Arizona A school bus driver shall not wear an audio headset or earphones or use a cellular telephone whenever the school bus is in motion. Administrative code provision; no penalty specified
California Rental cars with cellular telephone equipment must include written operating instructions concerning its safe use. $100 maximum for first violation;
$200 maximum for second;
$250 for third and subsequent violations committed within one year
Florida Cellular phone use is permitted as long as it provides sound through one ear and allows surrounding sound to be heard with the other ear. $30 for each violation; nonmoving violation
Illinois A single-sided headset or earpiece is permitted with a mobile phone while driving. No penalty
Massachusetts Cellular phone use is permitted as long as it does not interfere with the operation of the vehicle and one hand remains on the steering wheel at all times. $35 maximum for first violation;
$35-$75 for second violation;
$75-$150 for third and subsequent
violations committed within 1 year
Massachusetts No person shall operate a moving school bus while using a mobile telephone. No penalty specified
New York Drivers prohibited from talking on hand-held mobile phones while operating a motor vehicle. Not more than $100

SOURCE: National Conference of State Legislators, Cell Phones and Highway Safety: 2001 State Legislative Update, available at http://www.ncsl.org/programs/esnr/2001cellph.htm, as of Nov. 19, 2001.