You are here

Appendix 3: UTC Contacts

AL

University Alabama-Tuscaloosa
University Transportation Center for Alabama
UTC Category: Tier I (FY 05-06)
Dr. Daniel Turner, Director
Email: dturner@eng.ua.edu
Website: http://utca.eng.ua.edu/default.asp

University of Alabama, Birmingham
UAB University Transportation Center
UTC Category: Title III
Dr. Russ Fine, Director
Email: rfine@uab.edu
Website: http://main.uab.edu

University of Alabama, Tuscaloosa
University Transportation Center for Alabama
UTC Category: Title III
Dr. Jay K. Lindly, Director
Email: jlindly@eng.ua.edu
Website: http://utca.eng.ua.edu

AK

University of Alaska
Alaska University Transportation Center
UTC Category: National
Mr. Billy G. Conner, Director
Email: ffbgc@uaf.edu
Website: http://www.uaf.edu/ine/AUTC/AUTCindex.html

AR

University of Arkansas
Mack Blackwell National Rural Transportation
Center
UTC Category: Tier I (FY 05-06)
Dr. Heather Nachtmann, Director
Email: hln@uark.edu
Website: http://www.mackblackwell.org/

University of Arkansas
Mack Blackwell National Rural Transportation
Center
UTC Category: Tier II
Dr. HeatherNachtmann, Director
Email: hln@uark.edu
Website: http://www.mackblackwell.org/

CA

California State University-San Bernardino
Leonard University Transportation Center, CSUSB
UTC Category: Tier II
Dr. Haw-Jan "John" Wu, Director
Email: jwu@csusb.edu
Website: http://leonard.csusb.edu

San Jose State University
Mineta Transportation Institute
UTC Category: Tier I
Mr. Rod Diridon, Director
Email: diridon@mti.sjsu.edu
Website: http://transweb.sjsu.edu

University of California - Berkeley
University of California Transportation Center
UTC Category: Regional
Ms. Elizabeth Deakin, Director
Email: edeakin@ix.netcom.com
Website: http://www.uctc.net

University of California - Davis
University of California Transportation Center/
Institute of Transportation Studies
UTC Category: Tier II
Dr. Susan Handy, Director
Email: slhandy@ucdavis.edu
Website: http://www.its.ucdavis.edu/about/

University of Southern California/ California
State University Long Beach
Center for Advanced Transportation Technologies
Metropolitan Transportation (METRANS)
UTC Category: Tier I
Dr. Genevieve Giuliano, Director
Email: giuliano@usc.edu
Website: http://www.metrans.org

CO

University of Denver/Mississippi State
National Center for Intermodal Transportation
UTC Category: Title III
Dr. Patrick Sherry, Director
Email: psherry@du.edu
Website: http://www.ie.msstate.edu/ncit/

CT

University of Connecticut
Center for Smart Transportation
UTC Category: Tier II
Dr. Norman W. Garrick, Director
Email: garrick@engr.uconn.edu
Website: http://www.cti.uconn.edu

DE

University of Delaware - Newark
Delaware Center for Transportation
UTC Category: Tier II
Dr. Sue McNeil, Director
Email: mcneil@ce.udel.edu
Website: http://www.ce.udel.edu/UTC/index.html

FL

University of Central Florida
Center for Advanced Transportation Systems
Simulation
UTC Category: Tier I (FY 05-06)
Dr. Jack Selter, Director
Email: jselter@mail.ucf.edu
Website: http://catss.ucf.edu/

University of South Florida
National Center for Transit Research
UTC Category: Tier I
Mr. Joel Volinski, Director
Email: volinski@cutr.usf.edu
Website: http://www.nctr.usf.edu

University of Florida
Center for Multimodal Solutions for Congestion
Mitigation / Transportation Research Center
UTC Category: Tier I
Dr. Lily Elefteriadou, Director
Email: elefter@ce.ufl.edu
Website: TBD

GA

Georgia Institute of Technology
GIT University Transportation Center
UTC Category: Tier I
Dr. Michael Meyer, Director
Email: michael.meyer@ce.gatech.edu
Website: TBD

ID

University of Idaho
National Institute for Advanced Transportation
Technology
UTC Category: Tier I
Dr. Michael Kyte, Director
Email: mkyte@uidaho.edu
Website: http://www.webs1.uidaho.edu/niatt/

IL

Northwestern University
Infrastructure Technology Institute (ITI)
UTC Category: National
Dr. Joseph Schofer, Director
Email: j-schofer@northwestern.edu
Website: http://www.iti.northwestern.edu/

Northwestern University
Center for Commercialization of Innovative
Transportation Technology
UTC Category: Tier II
Mr. Brett Johnson, Director
Email: bretj@northwestern.edu
Website: http://www.iti.northwestern.edu/

IN

Purdue University
NEXTRANS
UTC Category: Regional
Dr. Srinivas Peeta, Director
Email: peeta@purdue.edu
Website: http://www.purdue.edu/dp/nextrans/

IA

Iowa State University
Midwest Transportation Consortium
UTC Category: Regional (FY 05-06)
Dr. Tom Maze, Director
Email: tmaze@iastate.edu
Website: http://www.ctre.iastate.edu/mtc/index.htm

Iowa State University
Midwest Transportation Consortium
UTC Category: Tier I (FY 07-09)
Dr. Tom Maze, Director
Email: tmaze@iastate.edu
Website: http://www.ctre.iastate.edu/mtc/index.htm

KS

Kansas State University
Kansas State University's Center for
Transportation Research
UTC Category: Tier II
Dr. Terry S. King, Director
Email: tsking@ksu.edu
Website: http://transport.ksu.edu/

LA

Louisiana State University
TBD
UTC Category: Tier II
Mr. Harold "Skip" Paul, Director
Email: skippaul@dotd.la.gov
Website: TBD

MD

Morgan State University
National Transportation Center
UTC Category: Title III
Dr. Andrew Farkas, Director
Email: zfarkas@moac.morgan.edu
Website: www.eng.morgan.edu/~ntc/

University of Maryland College Park
Center for Integrated Transportation Systems
Management (CITSM)
UTC Category: Tier I
Dr. Philip J. Tarnoff, Director
Email: tarnoff@eng.umd.edu
Website: TBD

MA

Massachusetts Institute of Technology
New England University Transpsortation Center
UTC Category: Regional
Dr. Joseph Coughlin, Director
Email: coughlin@mit.edu
Website: http://ctl.mit.edu

University of Mass - Amherst
University of Massachusetts Transportation Center
UTC Category: Tier II
Dr. John Collura, Director
Email: collura@ecs.umass.edu
Website: http://www.ecs.umass.edu/umtc

MI

Michigan Technological University
Michigan Technological University Transportation
Center
UTC Category: Tier II
Dr. Lawrence Sutter, Director
Email: llsutter@mtu.edu
Website: http://www.misti.mtu.edu/index.php

University of Detroit Mercy
Michigan-Ohio University Transportation Center
UTC Category: Tier II
Dr. Leo E. Hanifi n, Director
Email: hanifinl@udmercy.edu
Website: http://mioh-utc.udmercy.edu

University of Michigan
Center for Advancing Safe Transportation throughout
the Life Span (M-CASTL)
UTC Category: Tier I
Dr. David Eby, Director
Email: eby@umich.edu
Website: http://m-castl.org/

MN

University of Minnesota
Intelligent Transportation Systems Institute
UTC Category: National
Dr. Max Donath, Director
Email: donath@me.umn.edu
Website: http://www.its.umn.edu

MS

Jackson State University
Institute for Multimodal Transportation
UTC Category: Title III
Dr. Donald Smith, Director
Email: donald.smith@jsums.edu
Website: http://www.jsums.edu/~imtrans

MO

Missouri University of Science and Technology
Center for Transportation Safety and Infrastructure
UTC Category: National
Dr. John Myers, Director
Email: jmyers@umr.edu
Website: http://utc.mst.edu/

Missouri University of Science and Technology
Center for Infrastructure Engineering Studies
UTC Category: Tier I (FY 05-06)
Dr. John Myers, Director
Email: jmyers@umr.edu
Website: http://utc.mst.edu

MT

Montana State University
Western Transportation Institute
UTC Category: National
Mr. Steve Albert, Director
Email: stevea@coe.montana.edu
Website: http://www.coe.montana.edu/wti/

NE

University of Nebraska, Lincoln
Mid-American Transportation Center
UTC Category: Regional (FY 07-09)
Dr. Laurence R. Rilett, Director
Email: lrilett@unl.edu
Website: http://www.matc.unl.edu

NV

University of Nevada - Las Vegas
Transportation Research Center
UTC Category: Tier II
Dr. Mohamed Kaseko, Director
Email: kaseko@ce.unlv.edu
Website: TBD

NJ

Rutgers University
Center for Advanced Infrastructure & Transportation
UTC Category: Tier I
Dr. Ali Maher, Director
Email: mmaher@rci.rutgers.edu
Website: http://www.cait.rutgers.edu

NY

City College of New York
University Transportation Research Center
UTC Category: Regional
Dr. Robert Paaswell, Director
Email: paaswell@utrc2.org
Website: http://www.utrc2.org/

NC

North Carolina State University
Center for Transportation and the Environment
UTC Category: Tier II
Dr. E Downey Brill, Director
Email: brill@eos.ncsu.edu
Website: http://itre.ncsu.edu/CTE/index.asp

ND

North Dakota State University
Mountain-Plains Consortium
UTC Category: Regional
Dr. Denver Tolliver, Director
Email: denver.Tolliver@ndsu.edu
Website: http://www.mountain-plains.org

North Dakota State University
Small Urban & Rural Transit Center
UTC Category: Title III
Dr. Jill Hough, Director
Email: jill.hough@ndsu.edu
Website: http://www.surtc.org/

OH

Cleveland State University
Cleveland State University Transportation Center
UTC Category: Tier II
Dr. Stephen Duffy, Director
Email: s.duffy@csuohio.edu
Website: http://www.csuohio.edu/utc/#

University of Akron
University of Akron Transportation Center
UTC Category: Tier II
Dr. Ping Yi, Director
Email: pyi@uakron.edu
Website: www.otc.uakron.edu

University of Toledo
Intermodal Transportation Institute
UTC Category: Tier II
Dr. Mark Vonderembse, Director
Email: richard.martinko@utoledo.edu
Website: http://www.utoledo.edu/research/ututc/

Youngstown State University
Center for Transportation and Materials Engineering
UTC Category: Tier II
Dr. Cynthia Hirtzel, Director
Email: cshirtzel@ysu.edu
Website: TBD

OK

Oklahoma State University
Oklahoma Transportation Center
UTC Category: National
Dr. David Alan Tree, Director
Email: alan.tree@okstate.edu
Website: http://www.oktc.org/OTCv3/

OR

Portland State University
The Oregon Transportation Research and edu">cation
Consortium (OTREC)
UTC Category: National
Dr. Robert Bertini, Director
Email: bertini@pdx.edu
Website: www.otrec.us

PA

Pennsylvania State University
Thomas D. Larson Pennsylvania Transportation
Institute
UTC Category: Regional
Dr. John Mason, Director
Email: jmason@engr.psu.edu
Website: http://www.mautc.psu.edu

RI

University of Rhode Island
University of Rhode Island Transportation Center
UTC Category: Tier II
Dr. Deborah Rosen, Director
Email: drosen@uri.edu
Website: http://www.uritc.uri.edu

SC

South Carolina State University
James E. Clyburn University Transportation Center
UTC Category: Tier I (FY 05-06)
Dr. Reinhardt Brown, Director
Email: rbrown@scsu.edu
Website: http://utc.scsu.edu

TN

University of Memphis
Center for Advanced Intermodal Technologies
UTC Category: Tier II
Dr. Martin E. Lipinski, Director
Email: mlipinsk@memphis.edu
Website: TBD

University of Tennessee
Southeastern Transportation Center (STC)
UTC Category: Regional
Dr. Stephen H. Richards, Director
Email: stever@utk.edu
Website: http://stc.utk.edu

University of Tennessee - Knoxville
National Transportation Research Center (NTRC
UTC Category: Title III
Dr. Joseph Petrolino, Director
Email: jpetroli@utk.edu
Website: http://stc.utk.edu

TX

Texas A&M University
Southwest Region University Transportation Center
(SWUTC)
UTC Category: Regional
Mr. Dock Burke, Director
Email: d-burke@tamu.edu
Website: http://swutc.tamu.edu/

Texas A&M University
Texas Transportation Institute (TTI)
University Transportation Center for Mobility
UTC Category: Title III
Dr. Melissa Tooley, Director
Email: m-tooley@ttimail.tamu.edu
Website: http://tti.tamu.edu/groups/program.htm?p_org_code=UTC

UT

Utah State University
Utah State University Transportation Center
UTC Category: Tier II
Dr. Kevin Womack, Director
Email: Kevin.womack@usu.edu
Website: TBD

VA

George Mason University
George Mason University Transportation Policy
Operations and Logistics Center
UTC Category: Tier II
Dr. Roger R. Stough, Director
Email: rstough@gmu.edu
Website: http://www.gmupolicy.net/its/

Hampton University
Eastern Seaboard Intermodal Transportation
Application Center
UTC Category: Tier II
Dr. Kelwyn D'Souza, Director
Email: kelwyn.dsouza@hamptonu.edu
Website: http://www.hamptonu.edu/academics/schools/business/esitac/esitac.htm

VT

University of Vermont
UVM Transportation Center
UTC Category: National
Dr. Lisa Aultman-Hall, Director
Email: laultman-hall@uvm.edu
Website: www.uvm.edu/transportationcenter

WA

University of Washington
Transportation Northwest (TransNow)
UTC Category: Regional
Dr. Nancy L. Nihan, Director
Email: nihan@u.washington.edu
Website: http://www.transnow.org/

WV

Marshall University
Rahall / Appalachia Transportation Institute
UTC Category: National
Mr. Robert Plymale, Director
Email: bob.plymale@njrati.org
Website: http://www.marshall.edu/ati/

WI

University of Wisconsin
National Center for Freight and Infrastructure
Research and education
UTC Category: National
Dr. Teresa M. Adams, Director
Email: adams@engr.wisc.edu
Website: http://www.mrutc.org

University of Wisconsin - Madison
Midwest Regional University
Transportation Center
(MRUTC)
UTC Category: Regional (FY 05-06)
Dr. Teresa M. Adams, Director
Email: adams@engr.wisc.edu
Website: http://www.mrutc.org