You are here

Key Officials

Office of the Assistant Secretary
Acting Assistant Secretary, Sophie Shulman (bio)
Deputy Assistant Secretary, Vacant
Executive Director, Audrey Farley

Office of Civil Rights
Supervisory EEO Specialist, Daryl Hart

Intelligent Transportation Systems Joint Program Office
Director, Kenneth Leonard

National Space-Based Positioning, Navigation & Timing Coordination
Director, Harold Martin

Transportation Safety Institute
Director, Kevin Womack
Senior Advisor, Christine Lawrence

  • Traffic Safety Division
  • Aviation Safety Division
  • Transit Safety and Security Division
  • Multi-Modal Safety Division
  • Special Programs

Office of Research, Development and Technology
Director, Kevin Womack

  • Research, Development and Technology Coordination
  • University Grants Programs

Bureau of Transportation Statistics
Director, Patricia Hu (bio)
Deputy Director, Rolf Schmitt (bio)

  • Statistical and Economic Analysis
  • Transportation Analysis
  • Survey Programs
  • Airline Information
  • Spatial Analysis and Visualization
  • Transportation Information Resources

Office of Technology Policy and Outreach
Director, Timothy Klein

Volpe National Transportation Systems Center
Director, Anne Aylward

  • Deputy Director for Operations (Acting), Robert Dorer
  • Deputy Director for Research & Technology, Steven M. Popkin
    • Director (Acting), Center for Air Traffic Systems & Operations, Gregg Fleming
    • Director, Center for Infrastructure Systems & Technology, Luisa Paiewonsky
    • Director, Center for Safety Management & Human Factors (Acting), Steven M. Popkin
    • Director, Center for Policy, Planning & Environment, Gregg Fleming

Positioning, Navigation and Timing & Spectrum Management
Director, Karen Van Dyke