BTS Staffers Awarded for Excellence

BTS Staffers Awarded for Excellence

Secretary of Transportation Norman Y. Mineta presented two BTS teams and three individual staff members with department-wide awards in November.

The prestigious Partnering in Excellence Award, the highest DOT group award, was presented to BTS’ Statistical Quality Working Group. The group was essential in developing statistical quality guidelines for all DOT agencies in response to new federal mandates. Members of the group are: Amrut Champaneri, Elizabeth Bradley, Eugene Burns, Demetra Collia, Pat Flanagan, Paulette Grady, Kimberley Hill, Purificacion MacDonald, Anand Prabhakar, and Julie Smith.

Andrew Kleine, BTS’ chief financial officer, received the Secretary’s Award for Meritorious Achievement (Silver Medal), the third highest DOT award for civilian employees. He was cited for “building the BTS budget and financial management system from scratch.”  

Kimberly Webb, a management assistant in the Office of the Director at BTS, received the Secretary’s Award for Excellence. She was noted for diverse contributions, including support for the National Transportation Library and the Office of Transportation Analysis.

Rick Ransom, computer specialist in BTS’ Office of Information Technology, was honored with the Secretary’s Award for Volunteer Service. He developed an aggressive outreach program in the Parks and Recreation Department in Greenbelt, MD, while also serving as an AAU Basketball coach and mentor at Hine Junior High School in Washington, DC.

The State Profiles Team won the Secretary’s Team Award for the successful launch of BTS’ state transportation profiles. Members of the State Profiles Team are: Ron Duych, Wendell Fletcher, Martha Courtney, Derald Dudley, Mary Field, Alexa Getting, Leonard Hughes, Darcy Herman, David Kall, Pamela LaFontaine, Steve Lewis, Melody Liu, William Mallett, Chip Moore, Matt Sheppard, Laurie Scovell, and Lorisa Smith.