U.S. Department of Transportation

Ray LaHood
Secretary of Transportation

Research and Innovative Technology Administration

Peter H. Appel

Robert L. Bertini, Ph.D.
Deputy Administrator

Bureau of Transportation Statistics

Steven D. Dillingham, Ph.D.

Steven K. Smith, Ph.D.
Deputy Director

Office of Transportation Analysis

Deborah D. Johnson
Assistant Director

Project Manager

Matthew Chambers


Steve Anderson
Steve Beningo
Mark Bradford
David Chesser, Ph.D.
Heather Contrino
Derald Dudley
Ron Duych
Vincent Fang, Ph.D.
Chester Ford
Jeff Gorham
Xiaoli Han, Ph.D.
Jacob Hommeland
Sean Jahanmir
Alan Jeeves
Rick Kowalewski
Suresh Kumar
Richard Leonard
Steve Lewis
Getachew Mekonnen
Dominic Menegus
Adam Mengesha
Fahim Mohamed
Long Nguyen
Ken Notis
Hilary Ross
Adella Santos
Joy Sharp
David Smallen
Michael Spencer
Michael Sprung
Bernard Stankus
Lei Tang
Amanda Wilson
Peg Young, Ph.D.
Jie Zhang


William H. Moore, III

Layout and Design

Alpha Glass Wingfield

To obtain Transportation Statistics Annual Report 2009 and other BTS publications

Mail:       U.S. Department of Transportation
                Research and Innovative Technology Administration
                Bureau of Transportation Statistics
                ATTN:  Product Orders
                1200 New Jersey Avenue, SE, Room E36-109
                Washington, DC  20590


BTS Information Service

Phone: 800-853-1351

Recommended citation

U.S. Department of Transportation, Research and Innovative Technology Administration, Bureau of Transportation Statistics, Transportation Statistics Annual Report 2009 (Washington, DC: 2009)

All material contained in this report is in the public domain and may be used and reprinted without special permission; citation as to source is required.