You are here

UTC Student of the Year Awards

UTC Student of the Year Awards

UTC Student of the Year Awards.

The 2009 winter meeting of the Transportation Research Board (TRB) marked the 18th Annual Outstanding Student of the Year Awards ceremony, sponsored by USDOT. This year, 53 students from USDOT-sponsored University Transportation Centers (UTC) were honored at the banquet.

The student awards are held in conjunction with the Council of University Transportation Centers (CUTC) awards banquet each year. Each year at the annual winter meeting of TRB, USDOT honors the most outstanding student from each participating UTC for his/ her achievements and promise for future contributions to the transportation field. Students of the year are selected based on their accomplishments in such areas as technical merit and research, academic performance, professionalism, and leadership.

The Research and Innovative Technology Administration (RITA) administers the UTC program, with funding from the Federal Highway Administration and the Federal Transit Administration. This year, continuing the tradition of One DOT, the Department also honored a student from the Air Transportation Centers of Excellence, sponsored by the Federal Aviation Administration.