You are here

1999 Outstanding Students of the Year

1999 Outstanding Students of the Year
The 9th Annual Outstanding Student of the Year Awards ceremony took place in January during the Transportation Research Board (TRB) 79th Annual Meeting in Washington, DC. For the past eight years, DOT has honored the most outstanding student from each UTC at a special ceremony held during TRB Week. Each student received a certificate presented by Secretary of Transportation and $1,000 from his/her UTC. Traditionally, all awardees have been affiliated with the UTC program administered by the Research and Special Programs Administration, with funding from the Federal Highway Administration and Federal Transit Administration. This year, in the spirit of "ONE DOT", the Department for the second time also honored an awardee from the Federal Aviation Administration's Air Transportation Centers of Excellence.

Student awardees from U.S. DOT's University Transportation Centers (UTC) program at the 9th Annual Outstanding Student of the Year Awards ceremony, January 10, 2000. With the students are U.S. DOT Secretary Rodney Slater (center, front row); Deputy Secretary Mortimer Downey (tenth from left, back row); and Research and Special Programs Administration Administrator Kelley Coyner (eighth from right, back row).

  • Brian Aldridge, University of Kentucky
  • Jennifer Bailly, California State University, Long Beach
  • Jason Bittner, University of Wisconsin, Madison
  • Todd Brayton, University of Rhode Island
  • Patricia Walsh Burke, Montana State University, Bozeman
  • Jennifer Dill, University of California, Berkeley
  • Daniel Finfer, Purdue University
  • Dan Gerbus, University of Idaho
  • David Gibson, University of Alabama, Tuscaloosa
  • William D. Hall, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • Curtis Hammond, University of Minnesota
  • Blake G. Hansen, University of Utah
  • Hudson Jackson, Rutgers University
  • Mark A. Jensen, San Jose State University
  • Adam Levine, Polytechnic University
  • Kimberley Mastako, Texas A&M University
  • Jeffrey A. Masten, North Carolina State University
  • Lida Mazaheri, New Jersey Institute of Technology
  • Shaquita M. McConnell, Morgan State University
  • Eric Lamar Minter, North Carolina A&T State University
  • Terry Morgan, University of Denver
  • Mia K. Petre, University of Arkansas
  • Brian M. Revels, University of Virginia
  • Caroline Rodier, University of California, Davis
  • Damian Siebert, Northwestern University
  • Wesley E. Tull, Jr., University of Missouri, Rolla
  • Joan Walker, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • David Joshua White, Iowa State University
  • Rhonda Young, University of Washington