You are here

2001 Outstanding Students of the Year

2001 Outstanding Students of the Year
The 11th Annual Outstanding Student of the Year Awards ceremony took place on January 14, 2002, during the Transportation Research Board (TRB) 81st Annual Meeting in Washington, DC. For the past ten years, DOT has honored the most outstanding student from each participating University Transportation Center for her/his achievements and promise for future contributions to the transportation field. Students of the Year are selected based on their accomplishments in such areas as technical merit and research, academic performance, professionalism, and leadership. Each student received a certificate presented by RSPA Administrator Ellen Engleman, FHWA Administrator Mary Peters, and FTA Administrator Jenna Dorn, and $1,000 from his/her UTC. Traditionally, all awardees have been affiliated with the UTC program administered by RSPA, with funding from the FHWA and FTA. This year, in the spirit of "ONE DOT", the Department for the fourth time also honored an awardee from the Federal Aviation Administration's (FAA) Centers of Excellence Program.

Pictured are student awardees from U.S. DOT's University Transportation Centers (UTC) program at the 11th Annual Outstanding Student of the Year Awards ceremony, January 14, 2002. With the students are: far right in the front row - Research and Special Programs Administration (RSPA) Administrator Ellen Engleman; fifth from right - Federal Highway Administration (FHWA) Administrator Mary Peters. Not present for the photograph - Federal Transit Administration (FTA) Administrator Jenna Dorn.

  • Hassan Abdelwahab, University of Central Florida
  • David Alexander, University of Idaho
  • Michelle Alexander, Oregon State University
  • Vanessa Amado, University of Missouri-Columbia
  • Andrew G. Beddoe, Montana State University, Bozeman
  • Lynnia Bethea, North Carolina A&T State University
  • Thomas Bongiovanni, Rutgers, the State University of New Jersey
  • Brent Brown, University of Illinois at Urbana ÑChampaign
  • Jeffrey Brown, University of California
  • Sarah Bush, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • James Chai, San Jose State University
  • Ben Chihak, University of Minnesota
  • Craig Christy, California State University at Long Beach
  • Coray Q. Davis, Morgan State University
  • Audrey de Nazelle, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
  • Terry Esper, University of Arkansas
  • Mayrai Gindy, Rutgers University
  • Stephen E. Hill, University of Alabama
  • Elizabeth R. Hunter, University of Wyoming
  • Nhan H. Huynh, University of Texas at Austin
  • Bryan J. Katz, Virginia Polytechnic Institute & State University
  • Nicholas Koncz, University of Wisconsin-Madison
  • Sean K. Litteral, Marshall University
  • Laureen McKenna, Northwestern University
  • Brandon L. Nevers, North Carolina State University
  • David R. Parrish, Mississippi State University
  • Bryan Reimer, University of Rhode Island
  • Jakub Rowinski, New Jersey Institute of Technology
  • Danielle K. Stone, University of Missouri-Rolla
  • Khaleelah R. Stroman, South Carolina State University
  • Yuet Ping Tai, Assumption College
  • Lisa Tucker, University of South Florida
  • Ramkumar Venkatanarayana, University of Virginia