You are here

2003 Outstanding Students of the Year

2003 Outstanding Students of the Year
The 13th Annual Outstanding Student of the Year Awards ceremony took place on January 10, 2004, during the Transportation Research Board (TRB) 83nd Annual Meeting in Washington, DC. For the past 12 years, DOT has honored the most outstanding student from each participating University Transportation Center for her/his achievements and promise for future contributions to the transportation field. Students of the Year are selected based on their accomplishments in such areas as technical merit and research, academic performance, professionalism, and leadership. Each student received a certificate presented by RSPA Deputy Administrator Samuel G. Bonasso and FHWA Deputy Administrator J. Richard Capka, and $1,000 from the student's UTC. Traditionally, all awardees have been affiliated with the UTC program administered by RSPA, with funding from the FHWA and Federal Transit Administration (FTA). For the sixth time, the Department also honored an awardee from the Federal Aviation Administration's (FAA) Centers of Excellence Program.

Pictured are student awardees from U.S. DOT's University Transportation Centers (UTC) program at the 13th Annual Outstanding Student of the Year Awards ceremony, January 10, 2004. With the students are: Research and Special Programs Administration (RSPA) Deputy Administrator Samuel G. Bonasso (far left, standing), and Federal Highway Administration (FHWA) Deputy Administrator J. Richard Capka (far right standing).

  • Ryan P. Avery, University of Washington
  • Jeffrey R. Busby, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • Washington Homer Carlisle, George Mason University
  • Patrick R. Clark, University of Alabama
  • Dan Cordon, University of Idaho
  • Peter Joseph Dailey, Marshall University
  • Samuel K. Eisenbeiser, University of Rhode Island
  • Stacy Eisenman, University of Maryland
  • Richard W. Erickson, San Jose State University
  • Julie A. Goodwill, University of South Florida
  • Jessie Xu Jones, University of Arkansas
  • Tanya Kunberger, North Carolina State University
  • Kelly Leone, New Jersey Institute of Technology
  • Jamie Luedtke, Iowa State University
  • Anne Meehan, Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey
  • Bruno Miller, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • Steven W. Mitchell, University of Central Florida
  • Chatavie Metron Newton, South Carolina State University
  • Brett Ripkin, Morgan State University
  • Jennifer Russell, University of Southern California
  • Katherine Sanderson, University of Minnesota
  • Grant Schultz, Texas A&M University
  • Lisa Schweitzer, University of California-Los Angeles
  • Jacinta Simmons, North Carolina A&T University
  • Peter Smolenski, Montana State University
  • Lavenia Toole-Holt, University of South Florida
  • An Vinh Tran, Colorado State University
  • Gergis W. William, West Virginia University
  • John Wirtz, Northwestern University
  • Rebbeca Wuellner, University of Wisconsin